PDA

View Full Version : Pedal height?

kevchard
22-06-05, 06:34 PM
:confused: Hello
Having a complete mish/mash of a car, all 3 of my pedals are different heights, is this a poss SVA fail?
Clutch and brake are in a marina pedal box, but i have a different clutch master cylinder than standard, which has a longer clevis and rod assembly.
Clutch is nearer driver, next 'shorter' one is brake, then throttle. They are all same height from bottom of floorpan, but they project different heights away from the bulkhead (how bad does that read?).
I do not want to start messing about cutting new threads on cluch clvis bar and chopping threads off if i dont have to.
Cheers for now.

TonyD
22-06-05, 09:10 PM
Kevin,

I dont think its a fail but try bending the accelerator pedal so its more in line with the brake for aesthetic reasons and it wont look half as bad.

Cheers,

Tony

stevee8
23-06-05, 08:41 PM
Kevin,
Have you considered packing out the clutch master cylinder from the bulkhead?
Due to the pedal and operating rod geometry, a small thickness packer at the master cylinder can make quite a large difference at the pedal rubber & it saves stripping down the pedal box assembly.
I successfully did this on a road car years ago.

kevchard
24-06-05, 07:38 AM
Bending the pedal to match would not be the easiest thing, but packing out the cylinder would not take too much effort.
I will see what i can do over the next few days.
Cheers for the advice.

AKBandit
24-06-05, 07:32 PM
Hi,
Packing out the clutch seems a good idea, but isn't the clevis ajustable ? You may also have to watch the travel on the clutch pedal as you may be putting all your force against the master cylinder when it reaches the end of it's travel, which may either bend the rod or damage the cylinder, if you push down to hard.

I do not believe it is an SVA failure.
Mark

kevchard
24-06-05, 10:15 PM
hi mark