PDA

View Full Version : Porsche 928 engine

moego
30-11-05, 02:26 PM
I am not a motor engineer, but can anyone tell me if it would be possible to use a Porsche V8 in a new build, and if so which kit would be the best?

Hope I hav'nt just embarassed myself:confused:

John

Robin427
30-11-05, 03:05 PM
You got the "8" bit right... I don't know anything about that engine, but I've seen people with Jaguar V12s shoe-horned in so if it is smaller than that, I can't see why it wouldn't be possible

Which kit would you be thinking of? It would certainly sound unique...

TonyD
30-11-05, 03:07 PM
Whats the width across the top of the cylinder heads ? Any wider than 750mm and you will be having a problem getting it to fit in any kit.

I like the thinking though!!

Cheers,

Tony:thumb:

moego
30-11-05, 06:47 PM
Thanks Tony

I'm pretty sure it's no more than 750cm but there are alot of other bits around it that would need to be tucked away. As to the Kit choice I have a blank canvas as I don't think that it will fit in the sumo 11, and anyway I would like to build a beast from scratch so I am open to any sugestions:-}

John:rolleyes:

mylesdw
30-11-05, 06:53 PM
Doesn't the 928 have a transaxle gearbox? If so there may be an issue physically fitting it in to the space behind the seats. Like the sound of it though!

moego
30-11-05, 06:59 PM
Thank Myles
I knew it wasn't going to easy:o

TonyD
30-11-05, 09:16 PM
If the main bulk of the engine is less than 750mm across the heads and you can either fit a normal gearbox with an adaptor plate or adapt the rear of the chassis to accept the porsche transaxle you could be onto a solution.

How is the porsche tranaxle mounted in the standard car? Could the mountings be adapted to mate with a chassis normally made to accept the Jag or Sierra rear end?

Nothing is insurmountable if you can throw enough ingenuity or money at the problem..........

Nice to see someone else thinking outside the box.......

Cheers,

Tony :thumb:

demus