PDA

View Full Version : clutch pedal stop

Clarkson
24-04-06, 09:34 PM
Hi, My clutch is over thowing and on quick gear changes my pedal sticks down!! I have a 7/8 clutch master and a mc cloud bearing with a -3 clutch pipe.

The clutch feels great,but I only need half the pedal travel so thinking of fitting a pedal stop?? Any ideas chaps??:confused: :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:

wilf
24-04-06, 09:37 PM
Is this a concentric hydraulic throwout bearing? If so, overstroking it will result in disaster - fit a pedal stop now, and maybe come down to a 3/4" master as well.

If not, do the above anyway - what bore is the slave? Most people have the opposite problem!

Robin427
24-04-06, 09:37 PM
Be interested to hear - I need a clutch stop too, since my gear changes are fine with only half pedal travel too...

Clarkson
24-04-06, 09:44 PM
Is this a concentric hydraulic throwout bearing? If so, overstroking it will result in disaster - fit a pedal stop now, and maybe come down to a 3/4" master as well.

If not, do the above anyway - what bore is the slave? Most people have the opposite problem!

Yes I think it is! I ordered a -4 pipe today may also think is will help? I thought if you come down on size then it gives you more travel??

Any ideas on a pedal stop??

wilf
24-04-06, 10:00 PM
Pipe size will make no difference whatsoever to the stroke. Might help the speed of return tho' - less resistance to flow of the fluid. But if your pedal is staying on the floor, the pipe size won't help that either.

Pedal stops are usually fashioned from a reasonably sized bolt - use nuts either side of the bulkhead/floor to hold it where you need it.

If your clutch is a diaphragm type, it won't like being overstroked, quite apart from the HTOB popping out of its housing, so I should cure this asap, were I you.

Smaller master = less slave travel.

Smaller slave = more slave travel.

And vice versa.

Repeat until you fall asleep, there will be a test later. LOL

Clarkson