PDA

View Full Version : LS wiring



Cobra Rob
03-05-10, 10:50 PM
I,m using the LS engine loom, its been modded and most terminals labelled. But a few maybe fell of or got missed so I have a few questions.
Firstly some pics on ways people ran the loom around the engine and surround area.
Need the connections to link into the GD main body loom as well.
I don't see a reverse connection on the loom, do i need to get a plug and link it directly to the GD main loom.

http://www.vxopel.com/pic/Photo5461.jpg

above shows a loom plug that is after the injectors on the passenger side it is labelled air intake sensor, not sure where this sensor is ? Is there another sensor supposed to go before the AFM ?( don't have one) or is it not used.

http://www.vxopel.com/pic/Photo5471.jpg

On the DS the part of the loom that supplies the injectors once it supplies the last one it goes on to one final plug a right distance away, No label could it be cooling fan or something ?

Clarkson
03-05-10, 11:09 PM
Not got answer to your wiring, but are you aware you have a nut loose in your first pic to the left of your hand??

Cobra Rob
03-05-10, 11:24 PM
Not got answer to your wiring, but are you aware you have a nut loose in your first pic to the left of your hand??

Well spotted David, the front shocks, roll bar etc are not bolted solid yet, I started on the rear of the car today doing the final checks greasing and tightening up etc along with the wiring the front is on the list to do tmw.

The Project so far (http://robscobra.blogspot.com/)








.

Tony Merry
04-05-10, 08:16 AM
Air intake sensor is located on the stainless steel intake tube to the air filter

JimmyJazz
04-05-10, 08:29 AM
I dont think you use either of them. Try and trace them back to the pinout tables I have sent you. There is only one connector to the MAF intake sensor which you have connected, it's upside down though. If you cant work out what they are post you pics on LS1tech (http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/index.php), you'll get answers there.

Happy Jim
04-05-10, 12:12 PM
Air Intake Sensor is AKA as IAT (Intake Air Temperature sensor) - it will have been a small black sensor that was part of the big black plastic air intake that you hopefully got with the cutout engine (and hopefully haven't binned yet). You need it!

Not sure what the 2nd one is for you'll need to tap it out on the PCM connectors and work it out from the wiring diagram.

Jim

Trevor
04-05-10, 04:34 PM
Possibly the knock sensor or crank sensor.
Trevor

Noticed you have the original headers - I am just about to bin mine having had them getting in the way for 5 years. If anyone needs them please get in touch quickly.

tosspot
04-05-10, 05:12 PM
Rob,
air intake sensor as Tony says has to go into the air intake stream (temp sensor). fitted mine in the filter box.
The other one looks like air con compressor.
Brian.

Cobra Rob
04-05-10, 05:53 PM
I could have a wee problem then, the engine is a new crate engine, The AFM , modified loom, lambda sensors, manifold and Ecu where got around the same time I think ( I didnt buy them directly) I may need an air intake temp sensor by the looks of it.
The crank trigger is right behind the starter and the knock sensor is on the rear of the engine right behind the oil pressure switch.
A/C may be an idea as I have some A/C tagged wires in the loom,
going to have to strip the loom anyways I think to get it to feed right through the bulkhead, also to add in extra fan control wires along with the Rev + feed and S/W.

DJB
11-05-10, 02:30 PM
The one in the first pic is for the Air Intake Temp sensor. There should also be connections for 12v supply to the injectors, skipshift / reverse lockout & a grond, unless the loom has been modified and these connections moved further back in the loom.

The second plug is for the A/C compressor for sure.

I've just had this same headache retro fitting a 2004 Monaro motor and loom to mine

Cobra Rob
11-05-10, 09:52 PM
loom was modifed but still included all the AC wiring which isnt that usefull in a cobra lol.
Have sorted all the gearbox wires and added into the loom for oil temp water temp etc. power wires sorted as well and hopefully the other instrumentation.
Only bit i,m confused on now some ls6 engines had an air intake temp sensor some had not, I dont know if i need one or not, will keep the wire there just incase i have to get a sensor to install in front of the mass air flow meter in the air duct.

Happy Jim
11-05-10, 10:07 PM
Only bit i,m confused on now some ls6 engines had an air intake temp sensor some had not, I dont know if i need one or not, will keep the wire there just incase i have to get a sensor to install in front of the mass air flow meter in the air duct.

I think some had it built into the MAF, 3 wire = seperate, 5 wire into the MAF = built in...I think (LS1Tech to be sure though).

Rgds

Jim

Cobra Rob
11-05-10, 10:17 PM
Quick run outside there :)

I got a 3 wire MAF, looking like i need a air temp sensor, aint got a clue where to go looking for one at the moment.

Happy Jim
11-05-10, 10:21 PM
Could try Monkfish - they tune a lot of Monaro's etc so should have ready access to new bits.

Jim

DJB
11-05-10, 11:58 PM
Quick run outside there :)

I got a 3 wire MAF, looking like i need a air temp sensor, aint got a clue where to go looking for one at the moment.

I have a spare. You'll just need to get a rubber grommet to mount it in the intake pipe. PM me your address and i'll get it in the mail to you.

JimmyJazz
12-05-10, 07:19 AM
I haven't got an iat sensor so I did a bit of digging on LS1tech and it would appear that you can add a 4.7k resistor across the terminals which tricks the ecu into thinking that the ambient air temp is about 57 degrees. Link1 (http://www.f-body.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1628&highlight=resistor) Link2 (http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/pcm-diagnostics-tuning/80354-what-does-unplugged-iat-do.html) Not sure if this is good or bad but there are plenty of kits in the States that do this very thing for $20 or more.

Cobra Rob
12-05-10, 07:55 AM
I haven't got an iat sensor so I did a bit of digging on LS1tech and it would appear that you can add a 4.7k resistor across the terminals which tricks the ecu into thinking that the ambient air temp is about 57 degrees. Link1 (http://www.f-body.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1628&highlight=resistor) Link2 (http://www.ls1tech.com/forums/pcm-diagnostics-tuning/80354-what-does-unplugged-iat-do.html) Not sure if this is good or bad but there are plenty of kits in the States that do this very thing for $20 or more.

:) Cheers for that, I had a notion in my head that the IAT was just a variable resistor. A 4.7K will sort me out, liked the better throttle response :)

Cobra Rob
12-05-10, 03:40 PM
I have a spare. You'll just need to get a rubber grommet to mount it in the intake pipe. PM me your address and i'll get it in the mail to you.


Your a gent thankyou very much, will drop a pm

Trevor
15-05-10, 04:20 PM
Mine has been running for 5 years with the fixed resistor accross the iat plug contacts. (as per LS1Tech)
I will get the correct iat fitted at some point in the future just to see what if any changes it makes.