PDA

View Full Version : Oil Pressure



Martin427
15-09-01, 05:27 PM
Help.
I have a new 350 [Repower] all is running well apart from the oil pressure.
Guage goes off the scale and the led remains illuminated.

The sensor is earthed OK.
All else is wired to the instructions [Pilgrim] ETB instruments.

Any ideas please???:( :(

Thanks Guys

wilf
15-09-01, 05:44 PM
Martin - don't know your particular brand of instruments, but I assume you have an electrical rather than mechanical oil pressure guage.
If so, you must have a problem in the wiring somewhere, or a faulty sender. Do you have any donor bits to temporarily check with?
Is the sender matched (in terms of resistance ) to the gauge? Is it a proper sender at all, because it sounds as tho' you might have an oil pressure light switch instead of a sender?? This might give the results you see now.

HTH


WIlf

Mike
15-09-01, 07:22 PM
If electrical then the instrument can be checked by earthing it through a resistor. This should be done twice, once at the top of the scale and once at the bottom. If you do not know the resistance range then your manafacturer or Speedy Cables should be able to tell you (Number else where on this site). This is best done with a simple circuit away from the car, that way you eliminate any wiring problems. If the instrument reads OK then it can only be:
a) the sender b) the wiring. Lets presume its not the engine.

StuartH
16-09-01, 03:15 PM
you may have the same problem I had with my fuel sender, the resistance range on the sender went the wrong way for the gauge (though both were smiths parts), the US and European standards are (surprise, surprise!!) completely different, one goes from 10 - 180 ohms , the other goes from 240 to 30 ohms (can't remeber which one is which), this may explain why your sender goes off the end of the scale when/if you have no pressure. Measure the resistance across the sender with the engine off and check with the spec for your gauge to work out if this is the case, in the case of the oil pressure sender this probably won't be too much of a problem as you can swap it for the right one (unlike my petrol level one!!)

stuart

Martin427
16-09-01, 05:49 PM
Thanks Wilf,
It is electrical and both Sender and guage is supplied by ETB, as is the wiring diagram.
I'll contact them as it looks more and more like a faulty sender.

Cheers
martin

Martin427
19-09-01, 01:19 PM
Thanks to all who replied.
I have now sorted the problem.
It was a poor wire in the loom [run a new one and is OK]

:+ :+ :+