PDA

View Full Version : GD V Dax

Two greens
22-10-01, 09:08 PM
I am thinking about building either a Gardner Douglas or a Dax and having a really hard time deciding which way to go. Both seem excellent products with their own pros and cons. GD has the (apparent) advantage of a much lighter car (2000lbs for GD Jag v 2500lbs for the Dax, both with a Chevy 350).

Does anyone know if there really is a 500lbs difference between the two?

GD quote 250 hours build time, Dax quotes 400 hours. Can anyone verify these figures based on their own experiences?

Two Greens

dave
22-10-01, 10:15 PM
As a Dax builder I have my favorite but this is because i have never built a GD,the GD is probably lighter than the Dax but i would think that it is not as much as 500lbs as the dax chassis doesn't weigh 500lbs let alone 500lbs more ,my estimate is that the dax is probably 150-200 lbs heavier than the GD, as for the rest of the parts most of them are the same ie. jag axles, chevy engine etc.etc. the build time on all of the Cobras is around the same as they all have the same parts fitted,i find it hard to believe that two different manufacturers can come up with such different build times, unless one is assuming that the customer is reconditioning all the mechanicals and the other is assuming that they have been bought in ready to fit.with all the mechanicals ready to fit my best build time for a Dax is 67 hours (gelcoat finnish)this is somewhat less than Dax's estimated build time, but having said that i have built to date 42 of them. the last car i builts weight was i think around 950kg on the scales at the SVA test which equates to around 2020lbs .This car was powered by a 350 chevy with iron heads (alloy heads are slightly lighter)
Im sure the GD boys on here will have an opinion, especially one in perticular...come on where are you Robert?.
Oh bugger he's beaten me to it,i shall have to learn to type with both hands. :-(

robert
22-10-01, 10:19 PM