PDA

View Full Version : Which Engine for a newbie?!

Northerner
31-03-13, 06:45 PM
Hello everyone, I have fancied a cobra for a while now and I think I have got a AK kit in mind but I would like some information about engines as I don't know where to start.

Correct me if I am wrong but I am swaying towards a Rover V8 as they are cheaper than a Chevy V8. Also I would like to try and overhaul it myself as I would see this as a way into a hobby I always wanted to do, which makes it even cheaper as you can get 2nd hand rover V8s on the net cheaply.

But, I have seen people with 4.6 V8 rover engines. When I scan ebay, they all seem to be efi, and I want carb. Now I'm an electrician not a mechanic and this is a learning curve, could somebody please help me get my head around how to convert this. Surely it's not just a case of changing the inlet manifold and plonking a carb on? I know you could just get a 3.5 V8, but is it worth getting the 4.6 V8 or 4.0 V8?

Any help appreciated, totally lost here!

Turbycat
31-03-13, 07:10 PM
Personally I'd try to go for an American V8 if you manage to afford it. I was fortunate enough (because of a bloody great motorbike accident!!) to be able to afford a factory built AK. I have pushed the budget to the max with mine and have gone for an LS3. I'm not that capable of crawling around doing mechanics since my accident so I wanted to go more towards the turnkey usable car as my first Cobra. I have in the past messed around with spitfires, lotus 7 reps and a spartan Trekka but those days have passed for me. There are far more informed people on here than me being a newbie myself.

Andy

Bobbins
31-03-13, 08:04 PM