PDA

View Full Version : Classic LeMans advice on weather!

Broxy
24-01-16, 08:54 AM
Hi all, It is time to take my cobra on a longer run as to date I have been a dry road driver in the UK only. I have been invited to join a group of cars running down to Classic Le Mans but I have no roof at all (just a tonneau). So advice on the best approach, gear to take (and not to take) would be a great help. I will not be camping so I have a little extra room than I could have had. The car came with a light weight outdoor cover, is it worth taking that or is that extra 'stuff' for little benefit. Any 'tricks of the trade' and experience would be appreciated. Thanks.

Bigblock
24-01-16, 09:58 AM
Hi Angus

I've had my cob since 1987 and it has never had a roof or tanneau and have have been doing Leman and the Classic for most years.

I have a cockpit cover for when the car is parked up, and this has always kept it dry. I do keep a big umbrella in the foot well if the weather look really bad, but have only had to use this at a a few sets of lights when held up.
We don't use the auto routes at all and stick to the back roads, this means we don't get the horrible driving rain and spray you get on motorways.
The way I have looked at it is that it's GRP, it ain't going to rust, carpets can be taken out and dried, and a bit of water never hurt anyone.
The only thing that is a defo is get a cap and a set of goggles/glasses, I use the new trendy safety glasses the likes of screwfix sell, the DeWalt or similar, they now look like expensive trendy ski glasses for about a tenner, because when you get a drop of rain or similar on your forehead on in you eye it's like being shot by a sniper.

If you want to protect just the seats if stopping for a quick break and can't be bothered with the cover a simple bin liner slips over the back of the seat and base real quick, simples.

Stop worrying and just do it.

Cheers
David

Broxy
24-01-16, 02:27 PM