PDA

View Full Version : Petrol Pumps

choogh
14-10-02, 12:31 PM
Why are the trigger latch's on UK petrol pumps inoperative? Having stood squeezing (for seemingly hours while I fill the Merc with petrol in freezing rains and being buffeted by passing traffic), my arthritic ridden hands hurt...
The rest of the EU have latch triggers, why can't we?? Or, do the powers that be, think we will fill the forecourt with fuel!!
Charlie.
:) :'( :'(

STEVE G
15-10-02, 08:03 PM
Charlie
I am sorry but thats the truth.Many garages have suffered from dopy motorists miss using the auto fillers and flooding the forecourt.You would think it dont take much sense to use a petrol pump but you just have to look at the way many people drive to guess the I.Q. of them.
Regards Steve G.

maxGD059
16-10-02, 03:45 PM
Charlie
They used to work when I was a student & had a summer job of serving petrol - yes that was quite a long time ago (circa 1980). It must be the pits to stand filling up a truck with 100 gallons of diesel. We used to set the pump going & go inside for a cup of tea!

Cheers

Richard
(It'll only be a 5 minute job)

Dutch Paul
07-11-02, 08:40 PM
Maybe they think we might do something silly - like this :7 :7

Zeb_1970
10-11-02, 02:09 PM
Another reason:
I was filling my camper with diesel in Spain a few years ago, stood next to the filler, with the latch on, the hose was snagged by a passing person and the nozzle flew out spraying everywhere covering me in diesel, stings quite a bit in the eyes!!, I dived into the camper and into the shower with a bottle of fairy liquid, my eyes were stinging so much I didn't care about the fairy liquid! I lost it a bit with my girlfriend when she started to flap thinking I was on fire or something, all turned out ok, but I will never use a latch again. The garage attendant was not too happy, diesel rots concrete alarmingly quickly if it is not soaked up.

russell_ram
11-11-02, 06:38 PM