PDA

View Full Version : Edelbrock or Offenhauser ?

beanpole
26-03-03, 09:01 AM
Guys,

I am about to order a Weber 500 Carb Kit for my Rover 3.5, however which manifold do I use , the Edelbrock or Offenhauser ?. I have heard the Offenhauser is lower.

This is for a Sumo build.

Steve

Dan
26-03-03, 11:31 AM
I have an offenhauser dual plane manifold fitted (I got it as a pacakge with the carb from RPI), Even with the Weber a leveling plate and a 3" airfilter I still have clearance under the bonnet. mind I do have the engine mounted as low as possible.

I have no experience of the Edelbrock manifold so unable comment on the height difference.

Dan ~ http://homepage.ntlworld.com/danny.mann/

kev
26-03-03, 11:33 AM
try http://www.roverv8engine.co.uk/index2.htm This guy has a good reputation for the Rover, but he can be a bit long with his lead times.
regards
Kev

maxGD059
27-03-03, 08:31 AM
I have a webber 500 with an Edelbrock dual plane manifold & there's loads of room under the bonnet of my GD. Personally I don't think there's much to choose between them. The main difference is if you go for a single plane that is possibly going to be less tractable but better on the track.

Cheers

Richard
(It'll only be a 5 minute job)

perky
29-03-03, 08:25 PM
I have just purchased a Weber/offenhauser kit from RPI after taking much advice from a guy there called Holley (no not the carb !) and he advised this combination with a 2" air filter as this will ensure that you will have room to manoever on a SUMO.