PCV Valve making noise

Is it right for the PCV valve to make quite a loud ticking noise?

I took it off to check it and the middle/inside bit is loose? But only passes air one way, so I guess the valve is working.

Thanks Mark
    DAX with 4.6 RV8 re-built in 2014 using all new bits.

It has a plunger inside which will rattle if the assembly is shaken, but in my experience loud ticking in operation isn't normal - but I've no experience of the RV8.

The plunger relies on oil mist from the engine for lubrication - so you could try squirting a little engine oil into the PCV valve to see if that helps. They're cheap enough to replace, so I suggest that's your next step. Otherwise, it suggests there's excessive pulsing on the vacuum signal.
    Alan

CRC Thames Valley Regional Rep
    UK Rep for European Cobra Club (eurocobra.boards.net)
    Dax 427 DeDion - Huddart SBC 383

My vacuum at tick over is 22Hg. This has been confirm on 2 x gauges. When I Rev it goes down to 5 hg.
    What would cause high pulses?

I will ask JRV8 to send me another.

Thanks Mark

Mark,

It's not a problem I've encountered encountered personally. If there's an oil catch can or anything else in the PCV circuit you could check those. Has the problem suddenly started? Are there any other symptoms - misfires, erratic idle, etc? In my experience, many problems with these old V8s turn out to be pretty simple - so I suggest you whack a new PCV valve in there and then see if you still have a problem.
    Last edited by conrod; 08-03-15 at 11:02 AM.
    Alan

Id research that oil catch tank you have installed, im not sure its needed and may affect the pcv circuit operation.