Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

427 Viper to 289 Le mans Cobra

I've previously shown this build in the Viper section, but figured that unless you looked in there, quite a few people might have missed it. I'm a professional body man by trade and prior to semi retiring, I used to restore top end classics for a living. this thred shows how I modified a wide arched 427 Cobretti Viper into a 289 style Le mans car. There's a bit of tech stuff too for those that want to see how to work with fibreglass etc.

When you first look at a Viper it all appears to be visually correct, but as soon as put a tape measure to it you enter into a world of hurt. The o/s headlight is 30mm nearer to the centre of the car than the n/s. Not only that but it's also 20mm lower than the n/s too. The profile of the front of the wings ie the crown is also dramatically different. If you sight the car down the drivers side, or put a straight edge along the door, you'll find that the wing actually tapers inwards at the arch by, yep you guessed it 30mm. The grille opening isn't the right shape either & isn't elliptical, the opening is larger on the n/s than the offside, plus it's actually canted higher on the n/s too. It would seem that the car that it was moulded off could well have been a 289, that has been made to look like a 427. Whatever car it was moulded off, I can only assume it has had damage & been repaired incorrectly, hence throwing out the dimensions. Incidentally, the rear 1/4's aren't the same as a 427 either & the rear decklid has been raised so that the profile off the bootlid is wrong.