Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northampton
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,440

    Windscreen wiper wiring - switches

    Hi guys,

    I'm trying to get my head around how to wire up the windscreen wipers so that I have two speeds and park - bearing in mind I don't have column switches and I have a generic loom that expects to be wired up as the Dark Lord* intended.

    *That's Lucas, to you and me.

    With the help of this link, I know what needs to be connected to what to make everything work: http://www.gomog.com/BLAIR/tech/elec...iperMotor.html

    Basically:

    OFF - PARK is connected to SPEED 1
    SPEED 1 - +12v is connected to SPEED 1
    SPEED 2 - +12v is connected to SPEED 2


    Now, if I could use the Lucas switches (I could throw them in the exempt area, but it would look like I hurled switches at the dash!) that would probably be fine, but I'm trying to work out how to do it with "regular" toggle switches that are short enough for the little hoops, and I'm struggling to get my brain around how to achieve the necessary connections with a switch that is either "Off/On(1)/On(1+2)" or On/Off/On (as in centre pole connected to either top or nothing or bottom) and relays..

    Anyone done this before and got a circuit diagram handy?

    [edit] Alternatively I could give up on toggles and fit the IVA friendly rocker switches, which plug-in and go, of course. But toggles look so much nicer..

    Ta!
    Aaron
    Last edited by aaronjb; 17-10-18 at 03:38 PM.
    My DeDion build diary..
    Hon Sec of the Digidash branch of the Unpopular Kit Car Design club

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Reading, Berks, UK.
    Posts
    1,413
    don't have one to hand at the moment but have a look at MGB or GT6 wiring diagram, all use the same motor, Miss Google might be your mistress

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Reading, Berks, UK.
    Posts
    1,413
    av a lookie here

    http://www.mgb-stuff.org.uk/wiper3.htm

    Tells you everything you need, well most people.

    Just get it finished for next years Stonleigh

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Northampton
    Age
    40
    Posts
    3,440
    That link is basically the same info as the one I was looking at already - though with more detail on the operation of the "correct" switch.. the problem I have with the toggles is that mine don't work that way, basically. I have the choice of a toggle switch that connects nothing, terminals 1+2 or terminals 1+2+3 (which isn't any use here) or one that connects 1+2, nothing, 2+3 - which would do slow and fast, but not park, and park would be in the middle if I could figure out how to get it working

    .. in hindsight, I'm thinking of just going with the incredibly ugly IVA rocker switches (https://www.carbuildersolutions.com/...-2-speed-wiper) so that it can at least be on the road and through the IVA.....
    My DeDion build diary..
    Hon Sec of the Digidash branch of the Unpopular Kit Car Design club

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Stevenage
    Age
    46
    Posts
    141
    Also you i believe you need wiper delay ie intermittant wipers with a wiper delay relay just to throw a curveball in

    Cant get my delay to work though

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    8,041
    No, you just need 2 speeds (that might get timed for number of wipes per minute) and a park facility for IVA.
    Crendon Chassis No.49
    Huddart FE428 + toploader

    Not listed in the Shelby Register.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    liverpool
    Age
    45
    Posts
    265
    Maybe use a couple of relays to make the switch connect the wires you want?
    Last edited by philbrad73; 17-10-18 at 08:16 PM. Reason: Spelling

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    8,041
    By far the easiest solution is to buy a motor with two speed and a park acility, and use the appriirate swicth, whtehr it a rotary, toggle or 70s style flick switch.
    Crendon Chassis No.49
    Huddart FE428 + toploader

    Not listed in the Shelby Register.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Reading, Berks, UK.
    Posts
    1,413
    Use the MGB or Midget 2 speed motor and the associated toggle switch, that what mine was back in the day when there was nothing else. Been working fine since 1988

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    poland krk
    Age
    37
    Posts
    332

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •