Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie questions

Afternoon all,

Apologies for the so many newbie questions, but I'm new to cobra ownership. Hopefully they're all easy ones to answer though. So here goes:

1. Winter storage 1 - use a trickle charger or disconnect battery? If trickle charger, then any recommendations?
    2. Winter storage 2 - put tonneau cover on, leave folded in boot or find space in house to lay flat (garage is dry and doesn't get too cold)?
    3. General storage - there seem to be many indoor covers around and some previous discussion on the forum. Something fairly padded that will properly fit the size of the car appeals. Any thoughts?
    4. Access underneath - how do people do this? Jacks, ramps etc?
    5. LED headlights - I have P700s which give out little light so was thinking of upgrading to LEDs. I saw these https://www.bettercarlighting.co.uk/index.php?act=viewProd&productId=568, but they seem pricey at over £100. While I don't aim to do any night driving, I'd rather have decent lights in case I have to. Any thoughts?
    6. Oil - I've been told that 20W50 is the one to buy for my Chevy small block. Do different brands/types make a difference?

Many thanks in advance to anybody who can help.

Have a great week,
    Russell
    2011 Dax + Repower tuned Chevy 350ci

Hi Russell,

1. CTek charger of choice for this
    2. Mines usually under an indoor cover - but car gets used during the winter when not wet or icy/gritter been out.
    3. Hamilton classics for indoor/outdoor covers - had mine for about 7-8 years, car was kept in barn form nearly 3yrs using indoor cover - no damage etc other than mice making nest in carpet - lol
    4. Jacks and axle stands - there is a current post on about lifts though
    5. no idea