Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Newark, Notts
    Age
    69
    Posts
    1,546

    Windscreen Wipers

    Just getting car ready for MOT and found that only the wash/wipe is working. It was fine last year. Anyone else had this issue and does it mean a new wiper motor?
    Charlie
    Joint Area Rep - East Midlands Region
    AKCharlie - ''AKA SOOTY'' - AK GEN2 - LS3 - 6.2litre - 434bhp - A dream come true
    .

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    8,852
    Quote Originally Posted by AKCharlie View Post
    Just getting car ready for MOT and found that only the wash/wipe is working. It was fine last year. Anyone else had this issue and does it mean a new wiper motor?
    Charlie
    have a wiggle where the connector fits onto the wiper motor.
    had similar problem at IVA time, much head scratching - caused by using an aftermarket connector that fitted badly. A zip tie later and all was fine.
    Crendon Chassis No.49
    Huddart FE428 + toploader

    Not listed in the Shelby Register.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Birmingham
    Age
    43
    Posts
    770
    Quote Originally Posted by AKCharlie View Post
    Just getting car ready for MOT and found that only the wash/wipe is working. It was fine last year. Anyone else had this issue and does it mean a new wiper motor?
    Charlie
    To be fair that's all that needs to work to pass MOT, time to fix after?

    Alan.
    AK Gen II on the road Jan '19
    GM LQ4 364ci, LS9 cam, Omex 710.
    Tremec T56 Terminator.
    3.27:1 Powr-lok LSD

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Newark, Notts
    Age
    69
    Posts
    1,546
    Thanks all. I will check tomorrow
    Charlie
    Joint Area Rep - East Midlands Region
    AKCharlie - ''AKA SOOTY'' - AK GEN2 - LS3 - 6.2litre - 434bhp - A dream come true
    .

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Newark, Notts
    Age
    69
    Posts
    1,546
    Wiper Motor ok. Issue is in the column. When I wiggle the stalk (no puns!) I can get all systems to work. Anyone else had this issue and if so, remedy?
    Charlie
    Joint Area Rep - East Midlands Region
    AKCharlie - ''AKA SOOTY'' - AK GEN2 - LS3 - 6.2litre - 434bhp - A dream come true
    .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    1,102
    I had the washers stop working, turned out i was a poor earth to the column switch.
    David (AKA Firestarter29)

    Lead, follow, or get out of the way.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Newark, Notts
    Age
    69
    Posts
    1,546
    Earth is good. I have taken out the switch and it is very gritty switching so I have ordered one from Lithuania off a an old BMW.
    Charlie
    Joint Area Rep - East Midlands Region
    AKCharlie - ''AKA SOOTY'' - AK GEN2 - LS3 - 6.2litre - 434bhp - A dream come true
    .

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •