Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Ilford essex
    Age
    49
    Posts
    128

    Speedo Magnet positions

    I have a Stewart Warner speedometer. It stopped showing the correct speed last year, always displaying 20/30 miles below the actual speed.
    I got under the car to look for the speedo sensor magnets and have found two, one of which is not glued on and is clearly in the wrong place.
    How many magnets do I need and how do I know where to position them? i.e. Should they go at 12 a'clock and 6 o'clock using 2 magnets?
    or 12, 3, 6 and 9 o'clock using 4 magnets? Or is it more complicated than that and I need to make some kind of calculation to determine their position?

    Thank you

    Kev
    Dax MK4, RV8

    Better to try, and fail....than to fail to try.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    East Leake, Nottinghamshire, England.
    Age
    55
    Posts
    9,521
    You can use as 2,3 or 4 magnets as long as they are evenly spaced. You must calibrate the speedometer accordingly though for whatever you choose, most speedometers are programmable if you look in the manual for it.
    Martin

    351W 416.7 HP and 466.8 ft-lbs

    Running Mega Squirt and Edis 8


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Ilford essex
    Age
    49
    Posts
    128
    Thank you, very helpful. I will glue them back on!

    Kev
    Dax MK4, RV8

    Better to try, and fail....than to fail to try.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    East Leake, Nottinghamshire, England.
    Age
    55
    Posts
    9,521
    If you are using araldite to glue them on make sure it's the slow set varity as the quick set version isn't strong enough 9i lost 3 magnets before i found this out or sikoflex works a treat.
    Martin

    351W 416.7 HP and 466.8 ft-lbs

    Running Mega Squirt and Edis 8


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Ilford essex
    Age
    49
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by TINKA View Post
    If you are using araldite to glue them on make sure it's the slow set varity as the quick set version isn't strong enough 9i lost 3 magnets before i found this out or sikoflex works a treat.
    I read somewhere on here that sikoflex is good so I will give that a go, thank you
    Dax MK4, RV8

    Better to try, and fail....than to fail to try.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Ilford essex
    Age
    49
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by TINKA View Post
    If you are using araldite to glue them on make sure it's the slow set varity as the quick set version isn't strong enough 9i lost 3 magnets before i found this out or sikoflex works a treat.
    It seems from some searches that Sikoflex is a sealant. Is that the stuff I need to fix the magnets or is there a glue version?
    Dax MK4, RV8

    Better to try, and fail....than to fail to try.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cowbridge, United Kingdom
    Age
    61
    Posts
    9,945
    Kev.
    Sikaflex is an adhesive as well as a sealant.
    Once dry it takes some shifting, it's really useful stuff.
    Kev Davies
    South Wales Area Rep. UKCC Membership Secretary
    DAX Mk4, 383 Chevy Stroker, Tremec. SOLD
    Contemporary CCX 3-4028, 445ci Big Block FORD FE,TKO 600, Old School IVA'd and SOLD
    Dax De Dion LS2 and T56 IVA'd June '17 SOLD
    1965 Ford Mustang 289 Convertible FOR SALE
    In build- Hawk 289 Sebring

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Hertfordshire
    Posts
    914
    +1 for the old slow Araldite. Mine have been attached now for over 10 years with that

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •