Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Newbie advice needed - who pays a large repair bill?

Afternoon all,

I hope you are all in good health and are burning plenty of super-unleaded. I'm a newbie and have a bit of a thorny issue that I'd very much appreciate feedback and advice on. Sorry for the long post, but there's a bit of history that might be relevant.

Background
    • I bought a 2011 Dax with a small block Southern Roadcraft engine from a dealer in Oct 2019 with 630 miles on it
    • I drove it 5 times covering 70 miles until Easter. It was always a bit tricky to start, but fine once it caught
    • One week after it's first outing this year it caught fire with smoke and flames coming out of the air filter. I put it out quickly with only minimal damage to the filter
    • I called the dealer, who were very helpful and checked with them how to start it correctly, just in case. They said to give the accelerator two long pushes once the fuel pump was running before starting and then wait for a while if it didn't catch
    • I tried again a couple of days later with the bonnet up and it very quickly caught fire very intensely. Proper flames shooting out of the carb several feet high. I managed to put the fire out after about a minute or so with the garden hose. The engine bay was largely intact, but with obvious damage anything plastic/rubber and the underside of the bonnet was blistered. The outside of the car was unscathed other than being a bit sooty. Didn't inspect the underside
    • The dealer arranged for a mechanic to visit to collect the car and he noticed that petrol was flowing into the carb when the key was turned one notch in the ignition (ie when the electrics come on etc, but before the fuel pump starts). This was filling the carb with fuel
    • When the dealer assessed the car they couldn't find anything broken or malfunctioning that would cause a fire and so have put it down to "one of those things that affects old engines"