Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Handbrake

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PRESTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND.
    Posts
    179

    Handbrake

    hi all
    has anybody removed the xjs handbrake from its location next to drivers door and replaced it with an alternative one in centre tunnel
    regards graham

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Fleet
    Posts
    19
    I have thought about this and would be interested if anyone has done it.

    I wanted to use a handbrake from Trigger:

    https://www.triggerhandbrakes.com/Handbrakes.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    1,368
    Hi Graham, I have and John at S& J has made it too my design, I'm picking it up this weekend so I can tell you more then. It's on an AK.
    .............never drive faster than your guardian angel.

    cobraclub.com/gallery/showgallery.php/cat/633 - this is the link to my build photo's you have to put w w w . h t t p : / / in front of it!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PRESTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND.
    Posts
    179
    hi pal thanks for that, i wont be able to meet at s&j cus am going to oulton park on saturday. have u used the existing cable to attach to the handbrake mechanism or have you modified it. do you have any pics of it attached to mechanism, mine is inboard calipers by the way. i was thinking of fitting the handbrake on top of the tnel not down by the side
    regards graham

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    1,368
    Lokar do a tunnel mount handbrake give me a few days to get mine back, I have the original cable on the MGB handbrake, cheers
    .............never drive faster than your guardian angel.

    cobraclub.com/gallery/showgallery.php/cat/633 - this is the link to my build photo's you have to put w w w . h t t p : / / in front of it!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PRESTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND.
    Posts
    179
    i have now determined that the handbrake cable that attaches to the xjs handrake is long enough to be rerouted to a position on the centre tunnel so with a bit of modification i am going to fit a trigger handbrake in the usual position behind the gearstick

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    High Wycombe
    Age
    56
    Posts
    721
    Pictures please when it's done, would like to do this to mine.

    Graham.
    AK gen 1 delivered 05/05/17, on the road shortly!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PRESTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND.
    Posts
    179
    ok no probs but i only plan to do this over winter

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    PRESTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND.
    Posts
    179
    furthur to previous post, i have already removed and binned the old fibreglass centre tunnel ad built a new one using 1" box section and alluminium panelling and have fitted dodo mat hrought the cockpit and recarpeted

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •