Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    537
    Quote Originally Posted by GDCobra View Post
    Actually looking a bit deeper it seems that it's possible to use the switch wires to supply power to the unit also. Could be a winner with that one.
    Thanks again Aaron

    And looking a bit bit deeper I realise it’s “only” a thermostat, no timer function. So close!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Essex, UK
    Posts
    4,055
    The Hive unit is great, has timer function and can be moved around if need be. No need to use the app if you don't need to......(but useful if you've been out all day and want a toasty house before you get home....)

    Simon
    WARNING: Translation of author's random thoughts may have resulted in the unintended introduction of grammatical errors, typos, technical inaccuracies, lies, propaganda, rhetoric, blasphemy, rambling, and/or exhibition of shocking levels of ignorance.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    9,157
    Had one of these with new boiler install in 2015. Works perfectly 25-30 feet from receiver on the boiler, I move it to different rooms at different times/days (to keep others on their toes).
    First set of batteries (2 X AAs) changed this year. Party mode, holiday mode, programmable for 6 different heating intervals per day, 7 day programmer.

    https://www.plumbnation.co.uk/site/h...xoCOmIQAvD_BwE
    Last edited by KevinW; 14-10-20 at 10:40 PM.
    Crendon Chassis No.49
    Huddart FE428 + toploader

    Not listed in the Shelby Register.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Northampton
    Posts
    1,811
    I’ve also got a WB boiler but with a Salus wireless 7 day programmable timer thermostat with manual override.
    Dek

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cowbridge, United Kingdom
    Age
    62
    Posts
    10,119
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Drayton-Dig.../dp/B00XEV07JQ
    I've got a couple of these units.
    So far they've been excellent.
    Obviously you'll need the receiver too.
    Kev Davies
    South Wales Area Rep. UKCC Membership Secretary
    DAX Mk4, 383 Chevy Stroker, Tremec. SOLD
    Contemporary CCX 3-4028, 445ci Big Block FORD FE,TKO 600, Old School IVA'd and SOLD
    Dax De Dion LS2 and T56 IVA'd June '17 SOLD
    1965 Ford Mustang 289 Convertible SOLD
    In build- Hawk 289 Sebring Awaiting IVA

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    NW England
    Posts
    537
    Thanks to everybody. I think I've identified a Honeywell unit which will do what I want/need. I'll keep posted on outcome.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Chelmsford Essex
    Posts
    1,384
    The Honeywell systems seem to have less problems and slightly cheaper if you want zone controls and thermostat controls. I cannot remember which one out of the Nest or Hive needs there network connectivity so if the internet or there system goes down you loose control as your accesses it through there system.

    When I was in Spain on holiday, this guy in the bar was controlling the heating for his homes in the U.K. .His daughter was turning up the heating so he locked the controller away. lol . He had it set to 18c ! He did admit he was from Yorkshire. I thought it would not take her to long to over ride it.
    Dax 351 Cleveland T5 2.88 PL

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Worcestershire
    Age
    45
    Posts
    2,355
    We had this in the last house we bought, it's wired in series with the existing thermostat so either will turn the heating off, we just turn the original stat up to 30degree, ignore it, then use this mobile room stat.

    It works ok but the batteries are knackered in the mobile thermostat now so it just stays in the charging dock all day, but it be put in any room.
    Regards

    Craig Perry

    No, I'm not "repairing" it, I'm fine tuning its performance.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    on the edge...almost falling off
    Age
    57
    Posts
    8,545
    Why not just set your current thermostat to a higher temperature? That way the heating will come on and heat up the cold rooms?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    9,157
    Craig's method sounds rather complicated to me!
    Crendon Chassis No.49
    Huddart FE428 + toploader

    Not listed in the Shelby Register.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •