Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Another complete newbie

Right then.

After 30 years of saying "One day I'll get a Cobra", and now that the bloke around the corner seems to have sold his, so I don't get my weekly fix of seeing one, I've finally told myself that I have to take the leap and do it! (Ironically, my cousin was once married to a very divisive, now deceased, member of the kit car world. I'm sure that lots of you will know who I'm talking about but, despite his weaknesses (my abiding memory of him is him not lifting a finger every Christmas Day, whilst everyone else was running around preparing, and then clearing up from, lunch!), I'm guessing that it was him that sowed the seed in my 12 year old mind!

So where do I go from here?! Do I know which car I want? No, but I'm keen to accept advice. Am I mechanically skilled? No, but I'm willing to try to learn. Do I have lots of time to build something? No. Am I just a glory hunter who wants to look good in a Cobra? Maybe, but I do think that it's a bit more than that!

I can almost hear the hardcore amongst you groaning, and saying "here's another naive 'can I just get a new one off the peg please, oh and can you also tell me everything I need to do - it's presumably dead easy to give me all the advice I need' blokes who's clearly entering his mid-life crisis"!

Ultimately, I don't know where to start but I thought that the first step would be to say hi (I feel like I'm at my first AA meeting!). Ideally, I guess I should be frequenting as many shows as possible, and sitting in as many cars as possible, but the current Covid climate presumably makes that challenging.

I'm also not sure what amount of work I should sign up to. Realistically, I'm guessing that a complete build might be beyond me but can a newbie, with minimal/no mechanical experience manage a part build, or should I sell the wife and buy a shiny new one that somebody else has done all of the hard work for? I'm guessing that's only up to me to decide.