Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another newbie

Another newbie

Hi all,

Just joined the forum to hopefully get plugged into a network of kit car Cobra owners. I'm based near Lewes in East Sussex and have been wanting to build a Cobra Replica ever since I attended a kit car show in Stoneleigh about 20 years ago. Anyway, I've finally decided to bite the bullet and start it this year with a view to this being a multi-year project I can do with my two boys. I'm not a mechanic by any stretch but have done some basic maintenance over the years - changing brake pads and discs, changing radiator, changing wishbones, oil changes etc. I'm planning to spend a few months researching which is the best kit to get and what tools I will need to make life as easy as possible. I'm particularly keen on the coupe/Daytona model. I'm thinking my budget is probably around £30k all in - perhaps a little more to get the right car at the end of the project.

I'd love to connect with people who have built the various kits on the market to get an idea of which companies offer the best kits in terms of quality of the parts and instructions and which ones offer the best customer service and advice post purchase.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to connecting with this group.

Cheers
    Steve

Hi Steve.
    Welcome aboard.
    For a coupe I think £30k will be ambitious, but possible with careful planning. As you are not in a hurry to complete the car you will have plenty of time to wait for parts to come up at the right price.
    Tools: Socket sets in both metric and imperial, trolley jack, axle stands, bench and vice, angle grinder, hacksaw, hammers, screwdrivers etc.... Just the usual stuff. If you don't have an engine hoist you can usually hire one when needed.
    Coupe kits are few and far between. In Europe you have Dax, if you look to the USA then Factory 5 who have a UK agent. I do one, but just a bit over your budget :-O
    Pro Cobra Builder
    DB427SC

DB REPLICAS