Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bleeding clutch

Bleeding clutch

Well the title says it all. On my new build i have a conventional master cylinder and a conventional set up on the slave cylinder. On the slave cylinder the bleed nipple is facing upwards ie vertical, however i dont see why this should be a problem. Viewing other forum comments it would seem that bleeding the clutch can be a problem. In the past on other cars i have used the conventional method and Gunson pressurised bottle arrangement, one thing with the Gunson method is that it fills the reservoir to the brim not so good with paint damaging fluid and if there is a leak
    sprays fluid in all directions.
    Can anyone recommend a vacuum type bleeder which will do the job as i also need to do the brakes.

I have used the Gunson on my hydraulic clutch set up with success,
    your right about it filling to the brim though.
    You should be ok with extra care and don't go to high with the pressure
    what ever you do.
    To be sure I also cover the master cylinder and bleeder unit with something just in case.
    Will also keep an eye out for another clutch/brake bleeder due to the Gunson getting a bit tired.
    Chris.

Hi Chris
    Thats what happened with me, i tried my old Gunson but found the cap did not seal very well on the master reservoir and when i pressurised it, fluid started to leak, so I think its time to invest in a new bleed system. If you use silicone fluid its not so much a problem as its ok with paintwork but its expensive.

Well jon
    Looked it up and its very cheap, but if it did the job then great. Perhaps i need to get one.

Also worth remembering to remove some fluid from the res’, don’t leave it brimmed. As the clutch wears it will displace fluid back to the res’.

Quote Originally Posted by GDCobra View Post
    Also worth remembering to remove some fluid from the res’, don’t leave it brimmed. As the clutch wears it will displace fluid back to the res’.