PDA

View Full Version : Indicator stalk - required to be marked for IVA?



aaronjb
10-02-21, 10:30 AM
Here's a question I haven't been able to figure out by reading the IVA manual; is the indicator stalk required to be marked as such for the IVA?

I ask because currently I have an original-style VW Beetle indicator stalk which has precisely zero markings on it (just a long waggly stalk :lol: ), and I've been wondering if it needs the arrows on it to be IVA compliant.

Section 23 (Direction Indicators) doesn't seem to say - it only deals with the requirement for a tell-tale
Section 33 (Identification of controls) says:

"This inspection is to ensure that any controls, Tell-tales and indicators fitted to the vehicle are; where required readily identifiable and in any case where displayed they would not cause confusion to the driver. Identification of certain controls, tell tales and indicators is mandatory and is covered in other relevant sections."

But also says "This section only applies to optional identification where provided."

I think at least one or two of you have been through IVA with the same waggly stalk .. Kevin, Kevin? (Yes that's two separate Kevins :lol:)



Hm, I also just realised that Section 23 says: "The hazard warning device must have a tell-tale warning light (see Note 1)." - I only have a single green tell-tale for the indicators, which I thought was OK based on Table A in Section 33 saying "Direction Indicators Or Hazard Warning if both flash together", but it seems like I need another separate red tell-tale for the hazards, can anyone confirm?

kdavies3
10-02-21, 10:46 AM
I've never had the direction marked on mine Aaron.
The last three have all had the "original" VW stalk on.
As long as you have a warning light or two, I think you're OK.

pevans
10-02-21, 10:57 AM
Mine was not marked and passed

aaronjb
10-02-21, 11:03 AM
Excellent, good to know! Thanks both :)

Incidentally, did you have separate tell-tales for hazards and indicators, or just the one?

kdavies3
10-02-21, 12:16 PM
I've got an led lit hazard switch but I think the turn signal light also flashes with the hazards.
Not sure if the switch flashes or just illuminates?

aaronjb
10-02-21, 12:54 PM
Hm .. well, I guess I'll find out eventually either way :)

My hazard switch is a toggle switch but doesn't have a light on the end - the indicator tell-tale flashes, of course (as it does when you indicate) but as there's only one you can't tell the difference between "I'm indicating" or "I have my hazards on"; well, that would be the possible argument, at least. I mean, I'm not a complete idiot so I am pretty sure I can tell if I've turned a switch on, but.. :lol:

drammyboy
10-02-21, 02:37 PM
Section 23 says:
"The hazard warning device must have a tell-tale warning light ..."

- I only have a single green tell-tale for the indicators

The 'must have' is all important

I'd splash out for a red warning light to save on any retest fee.

Section 33 Table A
Green light- indicators
Red Warning light- Hazards

Unless the tester is colour blind........

kdavies3
12-02-21, 10:06 AM
I agree with Drammyboy,
At the very least I'd go for an illuminated switch.
So it's obvious that you have the hazards on.

KevinW
12-02-21, 11:17 AM
Hm .. well, I guess I'll find out eventually either way :)

My hazard switch is a toggle switch but doesn't have a light on the end - the indicator tell-tale flashes, of course (as it does when you indicate) but as there's only one you can't tell the difference between "I'm indicating" or "I have my hazards on"; well, that would be the possible argument, at least. I mean, I'm not a complete idiot so I am pretty sure I can tell if I've turned a switch on, but.. :lol:

- thought I had seena standard hazard switch on your dashlike this?
https://www.electricalcarservices.com/hazard-switch-d048450/p-861?gclid=CjwKCAiA65iBBhB-EiwAW253W8jdIg-cUv8wAnCuNs68Qc64K9YayGyn76XEuZzPGkJpuZ7n3E1rXxoC_ WcQAvD_BwE
If not, suggest you add a little binnacle underneath and put it there - could even be at the end of the exclusion zone.

drammyboy
12-02-21, 12:00 PM
- thought I had seena standard hazard switch on your dashlike this?
[url]https://www.electricalcarservices.com/hazard-switch-d048450/p-861?
gclid=CjwKCAiA65iBBhB-EiwAW253W8jdIg-.

You did You did Kev
But it was on my old Dashboard.........

Seems my IVA chappie was called Oliver and he wanted more

http://img4.imagetitan.com/img4/small/23/23_5817.jpg (http://img4.imagetitan.com/img.php?image=23_5817.jpg)

http://img4.imagetitan.com/img4/small/23/23_nomoreroom.jpg (http://img4.imagetitan.com/img.php?image=23_nomoreroom.jpg)

Better to be safe than sorry....

aaronjb
12-02-21, 12:18 PM
Thanks folks - cor, the dash is going to look like blackpool illuminations! :mrgreen: I already have tell-tales for: Oil pressure, battery, headlights, main beam, fog lamp, indicators and brake warning lamp.

Hm, come to think of it.. I might need to change sidelights to 'headlights' (or maybe I did that already). I need to swap main beam with the fog lamp because, er, I wired them up back to front (oops!) and change the labels on a couple of switches. I'm not 100% sure how to wire the hazard warning lamp in actually, IIRC the switch is permanent live to a tab on the relay so I can't use that, and the relay obviously just .. flashes both indicators. Hm. I guess I need to investigate the wiring again :)

Good job I was going to revisit the dash again eh?

https://i.ibb.co/HVDNpW1/image.png (https://ibb.co/Cz5JskN)

aksportscars
12-02-21, 12:32 PM
Hi,

You need to swap the rev counter and the speedo round as for IVA you need a direct field of view, and being on the passengers side you will struggle to see it correctly,especially being a reverse speedo.

Jon AK

aaronjb
12-02-21, 01:12 PM
Cheers Jon! I did wonder about that; at least that's an easy one :)