Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Complete Newbie

Complete Newbie

Hi and good day to you all. My name is Mark and I live on the south coast of the UK. I have just been registered as disabled so I can no longer work. It has been my life's ambition to own a Cobra, I could not find a job that would allow me to buy one new or old. So with the little pension, I have, I have decided that I would like to start to build one as I now have so much time on my hands. Can I be cheeky and ask for advice on this matter, what kit to go for which company offers the best advice and after-sale service. I do have a V8 rover engine that I have had for a few years and have rebuilt from scratch. Also, I have a ZF 4HP22 transmission that is just kicking around maybe some may say that I need another engine/transmission but I was thinking that seeing I have this all stored and packaged I would start there.Stay safe one and allKind RegardsMark

Hi Mark, Welcome to the forum. The main question is what is your budget. If you have sufficient funds and time on your hands?
    The budget will drive what kit to look for and the V8 Rover engine is a good base for a cobra. Do you want a manual or auto? Consider that the clutches can be very heavy and also add in Power steering. These items will add in making the car easier to drive.
    I think a lot of people start out with thoughts of building a car for a set budget but soon realise that there costs soon escalated. Consider the time factor. Do you want a car now or drive it in three years, if all goes well.
    A rolling chassis will save you time and saving you having to do the suspension/ brakes / running gear refurbishment but you also have piece of mind that you have a good base.
    Last edited by jon1d; 15-12-20 at 01:35 PM.