Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Russell's AK Gen3 Build log

Inspired by Aarons build thread I thought I'd start my own.

I've been building since 2016 and have just about finished the rolling chassis, so not exactly speedy I might go back and document some of the other unusual parts of the build (like the fuel tank) latter but for now I'm going to start with the exhaust system. As you may have seen in some of my previous posts I've decided to design and build my own side pipes. Complete madness I hear you say, yes it probably is, but I wanted a particular style of 4 into 1 merge (not sure what it's actually called) so I modelled it up in Fusion 360 and 3d printed a few prototypes.

Previously I'd roughly cut the bends for the 4 into 1 pipes

and milled the required features on them

Then they where tacked together followed by the cutting/tacking of the various bends
    Attached Images Attached Images

Once I was happy with the fit I broke the tacks between the 4 pipes and set about welding the sections up.

I spent most of today, grinding and polishing

Next job is to make the 4 3" pipes but I've run out of time for today.
    Last edited by RussellGower; 10-03-21 at 06:23 PM.

Just wow!!
    Joint Area Rep - East Midlands Region
    AKCharlie - ''AKA SOOTY'' - AK GEN2 - LS3 - 6.2litre - 434bhp - A dream come true

*quietly packs up his TIG welder and sends it back to R-Tech*

Yep, that puts anything I've ever put together to shame!
    My DeDion build diary..
    Hon Sec of the Digidash branch of the Unpopular Kit Car Design club

That looks incredible.

Nice art work. Polishing out the welds takes time and makes all the difference.
    A linisher makes easier work of the joints I have found with stainless.

Quote Originally Posted by jon1d View Post
    Nice art work. Polishing out the welds takes time and makes all the difference.
    A linisher makes easier work of the joints I have found with stainless.